Sleepy time

Standard

I’m getting ready for a sleep study.

I need to leave in like… three hours.  (Crap – is that right?  I really shouldn’t be writing right now.  Eh, fat girl priorities...)  I have a bunch to do, I’m not at all prepared.

I did a sleep study a few years ago and it sucked.  Hard. (Wow, I just found a picture from it on Facebook – 7/21/11… this one is gonna be 7/22/13.  Freaky!)

Cyborg!!!

Cyborg!!!

The room was too cold (They insisted it needed to be cold he help me sleep.  Okay, except I sleep better when it’s warm.).  I was covered in tape and wires and bands and goo.  It was uncomfortable and itchy.  I could continue listing things… but gotta keep the negativity away.

I’m really scared about this appointment.  I haven’t been to the hospital where it’s all going down, it’s about 45 minutes away.  What I am most concerned about is the CPAP.  I got diagnosed with sleep apnea when I did the study a few years ago, even though I slept MAYBE ten minutes.  I got the CPAP probably a year later.  (I told them I would try this mouth guard thing first, but due to lack of money/laziness, I never did.)  I have high anxiety and couldn’t get over feeling like I was drowning or something.  You know when you’re walking outside and it’s too windy and you cant breathe for a second?  It was like that.  (DISCLAIMER: CPAPs can be incredibly useful.  I am not knocking them, it just wasn’t right for me.)  To be fair, I didn’t try it as much as I could’ve.  I decided early that it wasn’t for me and returned the unit.

Anyway, point being, I hope to not be told I need to get that again.

I get the sleep study in a few hours, get the results next week, then next up should be the lab work and endoscopy and then everything gets submitted to insurance for the weight loss surgery!

Leave a Reply

